Latest update: 23/09/2017
President of the ARTSAKH REPUBLIC
Bako S. Sahakyan
/ NKR / State Power

Enter your E-mail address:

State Power

The Nagorno Karabagh Republic is a sovereign, democratic, secular, legal and social state, where power belongs to the people. The state power system in the Republic is based on the principles of separation and balance of legislative, executive and judicial powers, as well as on the distribution of the powers between republican and local authorities.

pres_bld.jpgThe head of state is the President who is elected for a five-year term. One and the same person cannot hold the post of the President of the Nagorno Karabagh Republic for more than two terms running.

The President of the Republic oversees the adherence to the Constitution, ensures normal functioning of the legislative, executive and judicial bodies.

He is the guarantor of sovereignty, independence, territorial integrity and security of the Nagorno Karabagh Republic.

The President represents the Republic in international relations, defines the general course of the NKR's foreign policy.


He is the Commander-in-Chief of the armed force, coordinates the activities of the state organs in the defence sphere, appoints and releases supreme command staff of the Army and other forces.

The President forms and presides at the National Security Council.

The Head of State grants citizenship of the Nagorno Karabagh Republic and political asylum in the Republic.

The President awards orders and medals of the Nagorno Karabagh Republic and grants highest military and diplomatic ranks, honorary and other rank and titles.

The President grants amnesty.

Chapter 3 of the NKR constitution

The highest legislative organ in the NKR is the National Assembly elected for a five-year term.

The National Assembly consists of 33 members. 11 deputies are elected with the majority election system, 22 deputies - with the proportional representation system. The National Assembly consists of the Chairman, Deputy Chairman, deputies and standing committees. Deputies make up factions and groups.


The sitting NKR parliament comprises 7 standing committees and 5 parliamentary factions: They are respectively:


  • on foreign affairs
  • on industry and industrial infrastructures
  • on finance, budget and economic management issues
  • on legal and state affairs
  • on social and healthcare issues
  • on defense, security and legalism issues
  • on issues of science, education culture, youth and sportsaffairs

  • "Homeland"
  • "Dashnaktsutyun" -(Armenian Revolutionary Federation)
  • "Democracy"
  • "Movement-88"
  • "Revival"


Regular sessions of the National Assembly are convened twice a year: in September-December and February-June. Sessions are held through convocations,  at least once a month. As a rule, regular meetings of the National Assembly take place on Wednesdays and are open to public.


Extraordinary session or meetings of the National Assembly are convened by the Chairman of the National Assembly upon the inititation of the President of the Republic, at least one-third of the total number of National Assembly deputies or the Cabinet  with the agenda and within the timeframe set by the initiator.


The National Assembly adopts laws, enactments, resolutions, appeals and statements.

The NKR parliament on the proposal of the President:

  • announces amnesty;
  • ratifies,withholds or suspends ther intenational agreements of the NKR;
  • adopts resolutions on declaring war or proclaiming peace.

Chapter 4 of the NKR constitution

The highest executive body in the Nagorno Karabagh Republic is the Cabinet of Ministers or the Government. The Cabinet is composed of the Prime Minister, deputy prime minister, and ministers.

The Prime Minister convokes and chairs the meetings of the Cabinet. The meetings can be shenqShenq-1.jpgconvoked and chaired by the President of the Republic. The Government adopts resolutions that are signed and made public by the Prime Minister.

The Cabinet appoints and releases heads of regional with the exception of mayor of capital Stepanakert, which is an elective office.

The current Cabinet of Ministers has the following structure:

  • Ministry of healthcare;
  • Ministry of justice;
  • Ministry of foreign affairs;
  • Ministry of labor and social affairs;
  • Ministry of agriculture;
  • Ministry of economics;
  • Minister, head of the Nagorno Karabagh Republic Government Staff;
  • Ministry of education, science and sport;
  • Ministry of culture and youth affairs;
  • Ministry of defense;
  • Ministry of urban planning;
  • Ministry of finance.


The following state organs function under the Cabinet of Ministers

  • National Security Service
  • State service of emergency situatuions;
  • Department of environment and natural resources;
  • Nagorno Karabagh Republic Police.


  Chapter 5 of the NKR constitution

In accordance with the NKR Constitution and laws Judicial Power in the Nagorno Karabagh Republic is exercised by courts. The establishment of extraordinary courts is prohibited in the Republic.

Courts in NKR are independent. The judges are appointed for life and hold office until the age of 65. Powers of a judge are suspended only by the Constitution and in accordance with the cases and procedures stipulated by law.

The judicial system of the Nagorno Karabagh Republic has the following structure:

  • Supreme Court
  • The Court of Appeal
  • The First Instance Court of general jurisdiction

The Supreme Court is the highest judicial body of the Nagorno Karabagh Republic. It ensures constitutional justice and within the scopes of its responsibility reviews decisions of the lower level courts. The Supreme Court ensures supremacy of the Constitution and equal application of law.

Chapter 6 of the NKR constitution

Administrative Territorial System of the Nagorno Karabagh Republic


Administrative system of the NKR is composed of seven regions and capital Stepanakert. There are 10 towns and 322 villages in the republic.

Stepanakert city is the capital of the country. Its population is 52310 people.

The permanent population of the NKR as of January 1, 2013 constituted 146,6 % people. The urban population makes up 74 183( 52,5% of the total), rural – 67 217 (47.5% of the total). Male population constitutes 70,7 people, female – 75,9 people.


Regions of the Republic Population

Distance from the capital

to the regional center /km/

NKR Total 146,6

Stepanakert city 54,1
Askeran 17,9
Hadrout 13,1
Martakert 20,2
Martouni 24,1
Shahoumyan 3,0
Shushi 5,5
Kashatagh 8,7 50



© 2007—2017 The Office of the NKR President
Made in ArattaDesign